Creating the Perfect Reading Nook

It seems as though the bedroom transformation will never end. But now I am going to direct your attention to a different corner of our bedroom, away from the oft-mentioned bedspread.

A reading nook has always been one of the things I have wanted in a bedroom–though with all the extra furniture we had, it seemed impossible. I kept saying to myself, “All I need is just one little corner.” Well, when push came to shove, I began looking around our bedroom and decided our ugly Booksellers Shelf we got from Pier 1 a few years back (when Pier 1 was still cool) had to go. I put it on Craigslist, and sold it within a week to someone very happy to take it off of our hands. Great bargain for her, and great for us because we finally cleared a huge piece of furniture out of the bedroom. This left me with my own cozy little corner in which to create.


I got as far as the before picture, sat in the chair, and was completely unsatisfied. Who wants to read a book in a kitchen chair? It’s not cozy in the least, and it looked a bit awkward in the room. So, with Alex clueless as to what he should get me for my birthday, and me with the desire to create a comfy reading nook, we discovered the perfect birthday chair at Ikea. Coupled with a fabulous pillow, it would make a great gift. Two problems solved! I bring you the Ikea Klapptsa. At only $150, it’s frugal, stylish, and absolutely fabulous.

We rented a Zip Car and were off to Ikea for the afternoon. Ikea can be a dangerous place. Especially for a compulsive shopper like myself. If I was left to my own devices, I would probably leave with a cart full of household items, and an apartment that looked like it was clipped out of the new Ikea catalog. Since neither is a good thing, no one can ever let me venture off to Ikea alone.

While at Ikea I was on the hunt for 3 things: 1) a new lampshade to replace the hideous ‘circus’ shade we had, 2) make sure the chair was fashionable enough for my liking, and 3) a pillow case and insert. Well, I was surprisingly able to knock out (almost) all three things. I found a plain white shade for only $10, the chair was perfect, and though I didn’t find a pillow cover, I did find a pillow insert for $2.99.

Now, even though the chair was comfortable as is, it was in desperate need of some back support (it is a $150 armchair after all). Luckily, I had already been on the lookout for a throw pillow in case I didn’t find one at Ikea, and I really liked the embroidered wood-block flower pillow from West Elm. So I was off to West Elm this afternoon during my lunch break, and anxiously waiting to see how it looked on the chair when I got home.

Well it ended up looking fantastic, and I am so happy with the results.

So what do you need to create your perfect reading nook?

– A spare corner
– A side table
– Some artwork
– A reading lamp
– A comfy chair
– Some throw pillows, and perhaps a throw blanket
– A cup of tea
– And most importantly, a good book

6 Responses to “Creating the Perfect Reading Nook”


  1. 1 MCC February 23, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Looks great! When did you learn how to read?

  2. 3 Rachelle RL February 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    cute.
    i aspire to have white furniture, it’ll have to wait until the little people have grown up though…

  3. 5 Mark February 25, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I’m love your choices and I am so glad that you and Alex still find great places to display the fish silk screen I made so many years ago. You are my finest gallery showing lol. What’s the first book you are reading in your new nook? Happy Birthday!

    • 6 Handjobs for the Home February 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks, Mark. Your silk screen is a true piece of art. I love it and it goes so well with the others.

      My reading has been limited these days but I have a few books on the list I need to get to. This nook will hopefully help speed up the waiting list.

      Thanks for the bday wishes! Hope to see you tomorrow night.


Leave a Reply

Join 161 other followers

Favorite Reader Posts

Follow Me On Twitter!


