Thrifty Tip Tuesday: Sheet Pan Pizza

There are two things in life that I can honestly say I could eat endlessly: pizza and chinese. I’m not ashamed to say it because even though I like to cook with a lot of local, organic produce, it does not by any means mean that I don’t enjoy a sesame chicken combination plate and pepperoni slice from time to time. To be completely honest, I probably get pizza or chinese at least once a week. There, you now know my dirty little secret.

Chinese is too hard to cook at home, contains too many ingredients, and just never tastes as good as the divey  corner place (Flower Drum House, represent). Pizza, on the other hand, is a really simple way to cook with good ingredients, save a couple bucks, AND make something that tastes better than most pizza you can get in your neighborhood. Unless of course you live next to DiFara in Brooklyn, in which case you can stop reading this post and go grab a pie.

The best part about making pizza at home is that you don’t need any fancy pizza making tools, cooking stones, or wood burning ovens–all you need is a sheet pan.

 

My favorite part about using a sheet pan to make your pizza at home is the crispy crust that it yields. I always find that pizza stones make for a soggy crust, and are honestly a waste of money. Plus they take up an absurd amount of space and weigh about a million pounds. Just because something weighs a lot doesn’t mean it’s good quality. Instead, you should make the switch to your trusty old cookie sheet. You know, the one mom gave you when you moved out on your own, and I bet you will be surprised at the awesome job it will do.

In order to make this a quick weeknight meal, I usually buy pizza dough from my favorite local Italian market, Rosario’s Deli. They have fabulous slices of pizza, but their dough is really what makes it their pizza so good. Sometimes I’ll make my own dough from scratch, but most of the time I save myself the effort and pick some up here.

Begin by preheating your oven to 400 degrees. A hotter oven makes for a crispier crust, so be sure it’s good and hot.

Drizzle some good quality olive oil on a sheet pan and stretch your dough over it. Then, go crazy and place any toppings you want on top. Tonight I made mine with mozzarella, homemade ricotta (coming soon to a Handjobs For the Home post near you), fresh CSA tomatoes, and basil freshly plucked from the fire escape. I then sprinkled some sea salt, cracked black pepper, and freshly grated parmesan cheese over the top.

Pop it into the over for 18-20 minutes and keep an eye on it, as ovens can range in temperature. When it’s cooked to your liking, let it cool for 5 minutes for the ultimate crispy crust. Then eat and enjoy your frugal and fabulous sheet pan pizza!

3 Responses to “Thrifty Tip Tuesday: Sheet Pan Pizza”


  1. 1 Mackenzi Farquer August 24, 2011 at 12:38 am

    While you’re there, you might as well get the amazing homemade mozzarella from Rosario’s too! It’s real, real good. (and Trader Joe’s whole wheat dough is none-too-shabby, too!)

  2. 2 Elizabeth August 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Homemade pizza is one of our favorites, too. I use my own dough, and sprinkle the pan liberally with cornmeal also. I use an 18″ round pan and depending on how many at home, I section it off into 3 or 4 or 5 wedges. Everyone gets exactly what they want on their section. My favorite toppings lately have been onion, sweet corn, mushroom, fennel seed and fresh sliced banana pepper. All with lots of mozzarella, parmesan and romano.


  1. 1 Ho To Make Homemade Ricotta Cheese « Handjobs (For the Home) Trackback on August 25, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Join 161 other followers

Favorite Reader Posts

Follow Me On Twitter!


