DIY BBQ Rubs

Got a dad that loves to grill? Then this Handjob is perfect for you. I’m always looking to put a little more creativity into my Father’s Day gifts, because let’s face it, how creative is buying yet another power tool? So this year I figured I’d give my awesome Dad something he can use all summer long—some DIY BBQ Rubs.

Store-bought rubs can cost you a pretty penny, and for what? The same ingredients that cost a fraction of the price when you buy them separately? (Or better yet, already have them lying around in your pantry.) Not only that, but these rubs are super easy to put together. All you’ve got to do is measure, measure, measure, and mix. I popped mine into some Ball jars, but you can really use any container you want. Just slap on a decorative label and you’re all set to go.

Oink Rub (for all things pig)
Makes 1 cup

½ C brown sugar
¼ C paprika
1 Tbsp fresh cracked black pepper
1 Tbsp salt
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp onion powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper

Cluck Rub (for finger lickin’ chicken)
Makes 1 cup

¼ C paprika
1 ½ Tbsp cayenne
2 Tbsp freshly ground black pepper
3 Tbsp garlic powder
1 ½ Tbsp onion powder
3 Tbsp salt
1 Tbsp dried oregano
1 ½ Tbsp dried thyme (or rosemary)

Moo Rub (great for brisket)
Makes 1 cup

5 Tbsp paprika
3 Tbsp salt
2 Tbsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp onion powder
1 Tbsp freshly ground black pepper
1 Tbsp dried parsley
2 tsp cayenne pepper
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
¼ tsp dried chili flakes

7 Responses to “DIY BBQ Rubs”


  1. 1 amanda June 17, 2011 at 3:30 am

    Love it and your labels! Thanks!!

  2. 2 lisa w. June 17, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Perfect! I’ve been wracking my brain as to what to get my 75 year old Dad and this is just the ticket. He’s a serious carnivore, so I feel sure this is a gift he will use! Thanks!

  3. 4 Sneeka June 17, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    This is fantastic! Can’t wait to put these together!

  4. 5 Dad July 1, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Thanks AJ..What a great idea! I am very proud of my son and I love you very much. You are doing a great job..


  1. 1 Garlic powder | Digitalwalmart Trackback on June 17, 2011 at 10:28 am

Leave a comment




Join 153 other subscribers

Favorite Reader Posts