Pickled Pub Eggs Revisited

This evening couldn’t get more perfect. The spring weather has finally hit here in New York, and the windows are all open. Besides the kitchen being a little hot and sticky, the rest of the apartment feels fresh and crisp with spring air. I’m writing this post as I stand in the kitchen (sweating), stirring my pot of caramelized red onion relish, while listening to Nouvelle Vague, and loving every minute of it. Almost ready for filling jars, and then into the hot water bath they go for processing. But the best part? The pickled eggs I made a little over a week ago are ready for munching, which I am also indulging in. They came out fantastic! Better than I ever imagined. They bring me back to many a dinner last summer at Northern Spy Food Co., chowing down on some season friendly eats and drinking summery suds. So if you’ve still got some leftover Easter eggs, what are you waiting for? And watch for the onion relish, soon to post sometime this weekend.

The sunset, outside the kitchen window.

5 Responses to “Pickled Pub Eggs Revisited”


  1. 1 Elizabeth April 30, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    My “in process” pickled eggs are sitting in refrigerator now. Only 3 more days.

  2. 3 Annie Jones May 3, 2011 at 1:36 am

    I made them last Thursday and couldn’t resist trying one last night (Sunday). It was very good! But I’m going to wait until at least Thursday to try another, just to see if there’s a difference.

    I also made the pink beet kind from a different site…I like your malt vinegar version a lot better.

  3. 4 Elizabeth May 10, 2011 at 1:50 am

    We enjoyed our “pickled in pickled beet juice” pickled eggs. They were delicious. The bright pink color totally permeated through the white. I am going to try the malt vinegar next, especially as I found others in the house (surprisingly) willing to eat them.

  4. 5 cdthomas June 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    They are *wonderful*. They’re my go-to breakfast now, with a piece of beef jerky (and a big glass of water….)


Leave a comment